1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Author Wes Locher has teamed up with Stratics for a giveaway of his new book Braving Britannia. This book explores the history and impact of Ultima Online and includes interviews from current and past dev team members as well as many UO and Stratics community members. Click here for more details!
    Dismiss Notice

Scaleable T-Maps in EC

Discussion in 'UHall' started by MissEcho, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Ok

    Just throwing this out there as an 'ask' for anyone with the modding skills to modify the EC to create a scalable T-Map. I want to add whatever line of code is needed to do this into my UOCartographer UI already installed.

    It can be done, as @Pinco has a scalable t-map in his UI. I cannot run pinco's anymore due to extreme lag it gives me on my computer. So much so that the pinco UI is totally unplayable :(.

    To give you an idea of the difference between the default UI tmap and Pinco's the pic shows my UI in default with the map open and the same with the map scaled up in pincos. Sadly I cannot scale up the map in the default UI.

    upload_2018-4-17_14-7-3.png

    I just need to know what and where to paste the code or whatever is needed to make this happen. Stuff is already scaleable in the default (backpacks, game map, pdoll, health bars etc, just NOT the t-map for some reason)

    Anyone who can 'enable' this for me would get my undying love and gratitude for all time :p (haha like you really need that but ..... hey!)

    @Kyronix @Bleak maybe you can also look at this issue.

    note: will also post this elsewhere (sighs) as no idea who looks where now!
     
    celticus likes this.
  2. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Crazed Zealot
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,159
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Just use pinco...

    The lag issue was resolved from what i could read
     
  3. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Not for me it isn't, I switch to pinco's atm to USE the larger map but as soon as I find the treasure chest I have to switch back to the default client or I lag that much digging it up I cant get away from the chest spawn, nor can I actually loot the chest without the lag being excruitiating. I played with pinco's for years, from inception until hmm at least 2015/6 then the lag hit me and that was it. I have patched, repatched, and even deleted the client/UI and reinstalled it and the lag persists. I was told a while ago that the lag issue was fixed and again uninstalled and reinstalled and nope, lag city.

    I have totally given it away now. Just need someone who knows what they are doing to work out a scaleable map mod that can be added. I wish all the modders that used to be around when the EC came out were still here. Seems there is NO ONE now doing it :(.

    And yeah I can switch 'to' pincos, then find the chest, the switch 'back' every time I do a map, but that is seriously perilous given I play siege as the switching takes a good minute or so to become active and I am a sitting duck the whole time. :p It is just a real pain for something that should of made it into the default client when it was 'redone', especially as this feature was in Pinco's prior to him rebuilding the default client for the devs.
     
  4. Finley Grant

    Finley Grant Crazed Zealot
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,159
    Likes Received:
    1,195
    Why dont You use the locker for Maps?
     
    Loren likes this.
  5. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    I don't know when you tried my UI the last time, but you probably forgot to backup and delete user data folder... after the rework if you haven't done that you'll have lag.
    Also you should check for errors, because if there is no lag in a champion spawn I don't see how you could lag there with 4 monsters :D

    Besides it's quite pointless when people have a problem and give up instead of searching for a solution :|
     
  6. Tamais

    Tamais Reporting for Lake Austin since April 2014
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend Editor Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    688
    Not sure if this will help but the default does have a scale mode. I used it all the time to make the map small when I don 't need it any huge when I do. You find it under options
     
  7. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    just finished to test a lvl 6 map, running like a missle through all the monsters in full FPS, (only 5 FPS loss with the loot sort enabled) so the lag is 100% problem of your profile and/or settings.
    Make sure you do the user data cleanup and then if you find any more problems HERE is what to do to report it :)
     
  8. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Yes I know it has a scale mode, it does NOT work on Treasure Maps unless you use pincos.

    It only works on the game map. My request is to make it work on Treasure maps in the DEFAULT client UI.
     
  9. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I use a davies locker. Gee guys I have been doing tmaps for YEARS. I don't run mining on my char so the zoom in function on a tmap makes it easier, the davies locker doesn't put you on the exact spot. Most times I can still 'get it' without the need to switch to Pinco's, I do roughly 20-30 tmaps a session or more.

    Basically I am asking anyone who knows what they are doing to write a mod so that I don't have to switch UI on the harder to find ones. A mod to add the bit of code that allows me to scale the map in the DEFAULT UI.

    I don't really need a work around or anything, I was just asking in case some clever bugger out there could do it. We used to have lot of modders when the EC came out, dermott, pinco etc, used to even be a modders forum. That died sometime around 2010/2011 I guess.

    Anyways someone can help or they can't.
     
  10. Parnoc

    Parnoc Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    681
    Pinco's is working great, you need to download it again or something, it definitely is not lagging for me and all the other Pinco users I know. Pinco is great at helping, so ask him if you can't figure out what to do to get it to stop lagging.
     
  11. Zeke

    Zeke Lore Master
    Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Knights of Terra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    743
    The only time I lag with Pincos now is at GL Events. I have no issues doing spawns or doing a hunt with 20 people or so plus pets. But for some reason GL Events just lag like crazy in Pincos, but runs fine in regular EC.
     
  12. Khyro

    Khyro Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    234
    The treasure map is part of the GenericGump I believe. Everything GenericGump related is a nightmare in EC. Pinco has done great work to essentially re-write the GenericGump and update the windows associated with it. Unfortunately it is more complicated than just a line of code to drop into your folder. And not to be pedantic, but... adding any modified code to the UI, no longer makes it the Default UI. So asking for someone to give you code so T-Maps will scale in the "Default UI" isn't technically possible :p
     
  13. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    doh like I didn't know that. Techically I use cartographer ui, but to be pedantic, why don't people just respond if they can do a mod for what is asked?

    It seems like there are just no modders out there. So be it.
     
  14. petemage

    petemage Slightly Crazed

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    It's CourseMapWindow actually.

    Sorry I haven't come back to you yet @MissEcho, but I still have this on my UO agenda..
     
  15. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    :banana::cheerleader::banana::cheerleader::banana::cheerleader::banana:

    Thanks :)
     
  16. Dizzy

    Dizzy Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Campaign Benefactor Treasure Hunters

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    522
    My experimentation reasons are lost to hi
    That helped - I think I solved this problem a long time ago, but couldn't remember how I did it, and I only get like 5 mins in the morning for fun stuff before I go to work. Your prompt put me in the right section.

    In the UIVariables section, I have these 3 lines of code -

    <NumberVar name="CourseMapWindowSCALESC" value="3.000000" />
    <NumberVar name="GumpScale999113SC" value="1.200000" />
    <NumberVar name="GumpScale2223SC" value="1.200000" />

    The scale mode doesn't work for me, but with these variables, the treasure maps are big enough I can locate the treasure without mining.
     
    petemage likes this.
  17. petemage

    petemage Slightly Crazed

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Code:
    CourseMapWindow.WINDOWSCALE = 1.4
    
    function CourseMapWindow.Initialize()
    	...
    	local scale = WindowGetScale(windowName)
    	WindowSetScale(windowName, scale * CourseMapWindow.WINDOWSCALE)
    end
    If I read that right, you could also increase "CourseMapWindow.WINDOWSCALE" with a script action.

    Try typing "/script CourseMapWindow.WINDOWSCALE=3" in chat and re-open the T-Map. If it works, put it in a script action without the leading slash ("/").

    Can't test right now though..
     
  18. Khyro

    Khyro Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    234
    Modifying CourseMapWindow.xml, after line 46 (in the EventHandlers for the CourseMapWindow), if you add:

    Code:
    <EventHandler event="OnMouseWheel" function="WindowUtils.Scale" />
    It should allow you to use the ToggleScaleMode option with the mousewheel on T-maps. It doesn't auto-resize the red "X" to a smaller size like Pinco's does, but it works for a quick scaling option of a T-Map.
     
  19. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I thank you all VERY MUCH for your input, I now have a scaleable t-map in my UI using just this addition to the default client so now a UI called Scaleable T-Map, it will also work nestled into the UICartographer UI.

    upload_2018-4-19_17-35-0.png

    So you can run it just with the scaleable tmap UI or put it into cartographer UI, if you run that and it still works and doesn't affect the carto UI.

    I will not shout out who gave me the stuff until I have their permission to do so, in case they don't want a gazillion requests for assistance.

    Not sure if the zip file can just be uploaded here or not?

    Anyways, YEAH YEAH YEAH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I knew there were clever clogs people out there!
     
    Khyro and petemage like this.
  20. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Far out it amazes me how clever some ppl are :) . I wish I was a little younger so could of got more educated in this crap, didn't even have computers until I was working for 10 yrs lol. I am afraid basic html is all I ever got and that was self taught, and seeing I haven't really bothered with any webpages in about 5 yrs now even that is disappearing from the 'info stored in the head' !
     
  21. petemage

    petemage Slightly Crazed

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Now you make me curious :D
     
  22. MissEcho

    MissEcho Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Well I have permission and it was Khyro. So thankyou !

    It took one sec to unzip and one sec to install and now I am grabbing my shovel and heading out to the blue to start digging with my new beut scaleable map.

    Very Happy camper here.
     
    petemage likes this.
  23. Dizzy

    Dizzy Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Campaign Benefactor Treasure Hunters

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    522
    Um, I'd like to attempt this, but there are multiple <EventHandlers> in that file.

    Couting 46 lines in Wordpad is hard. :/ Can you show the whole paragraph?
     
  24. Khyro

    Khyro Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    234
    Grab Notepad++ Home, makes it a whole lot easier :) But here is the section for reference:

    upload_2018-4-19_7-55-26.png

    In order to get the red X marker to stay small while you scale, you need to replace the lua file as well.

    Shout out to @petemage though for pointing me in the right direction. Once I realized it wasn't the GenericGump, I was able to piece it together. I'm just a hobbyist, but once pointed in the right direction I can usually figure it out to some degree.
     
    Prince Erik, Khaelor and Dizzy like this.
  25. Prince Erik

    Prince Erik Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    285
    Thanks so much, Khyro, I also now have maps that scale thanks to you. :) Let me buy you a virtual beer! :pint:
     
  26. grimiz

    grimiz Sage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    352
    What I usually do is use a function to set the tmap scale to the same scale as the actual map, change the tmap opacity and then overlay the map using coastlines or landmarks.... then I go to that spot and dig it up on the first or second try usually.

    Finally Step - Lose my **** when I get there and the chest is actually under a house...
     
  27. zamot

    zamot Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    54
    What is the UO cartography UI?
     
  28. Put Put

    Put Put Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    16
    On a side note for anyone not familiar, make sure you activate the "Toggle Scaling" option first. Was just fiddling and didnt have that key part enabled which made me feel silly. You can find it in other commands in actions.