1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Hail Guest!,
    Please take a moment to read this post reminding you all of the importance of Account Security.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with UoAssist

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ivory Norwind, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've already written in the other post but noone have answered to me. I've made the change of the reg config and UoAssist have working fine until the 10 times. Now it doesn't work another time. It's not updating and it doesn't open . What can i do? Who can resolve my problem, please?
    Thanks
     
  2. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    I'd try uninstalling UOAssist, restart the computer, and reinstall UOAssist. That failing to fix things, I'd try uninstalling both UOAssist and the Classic Client, and then reinstall both. Hopefully undoing and fixing whatever problem the registry change inflicted on your system.
     
  3. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok, tomorrow i'll try to do what you have sayed. I hope that it helps me. I'll post the results. Thanks
     
  4. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    No, it doesn't work for me. I can't update UoAssist and I can't use it anymore. Please help me :)
     
  5. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Clearly further reason why people should never screw around with the Windows Registry... *sighs*

    At this point I'd back up all my files on the hard drive and reinstall Windows and then everything else. These Windows 10 computers don't let you reinstall to a blank erased hard drive so the problem may not go away, but at this point, it's what I would do. Try a likely quick fix, and then go nuclear.

    If you've got movies and music on your hard drive make sure where you bought them will allow you to redownload purchased files. Some really large files don't save to flash memory sticks.

    Don't forget your browser internet bookmarks and any saved game files from any games on your computer. Make up a written list of what to be sure to back up so you miss saving as few things as possible.

    AND NEXT TIME UOAssist doesn't update itself just log out of the game and leave the client running. Click the Windows 10 desktop in the lower right corner to hide the game window and bring it back when you want to play again using the games taskbar button.

    Good luck on beating this problem.
     
  6. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry but i have WindowsXP Service Pack 3. It's quite difficult to solve everything just by formatting :(
     
  7. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Why I referred to it as nuclear, My computers used just for internet, UO, and not a whole lot else. One of the benefits of being an old soul. I can back up on a single 32 gig flash memory. At least XP still lets you reinstall to an empty hard drive.

    If reinstalling Windows isn't an option for you, I'd say go back to where you found the registry change you used and find another to try. Look up how to back up the registry you currently have and reinstall it if needed, back it up, and try someone else's registry change idea. You've got to replace the bad registry info that's keeping UOAssist from working. If you have a program on your computer that scans and fixes the registry, try running it.
     
  8. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Went to a website on Windows Registry

    The tweaker's guide to the Windows Registry

    and it mentioned using System Restore to go back to before you made a bad registry change. Does your computer have Restore on it and is there a Restore file from before you did the registry change?
     
  9. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Just ordered a book that's supposed to be a good introduction to messing with the registry, be here in about a week. I'm curious if you can just go into where you made the change, erase all the change, and not have a brain dead computer afterwards. That may get rid of your problem. If it sounds likely, I'll wipe out the UOAssist registry data on this computer and see what happens, got registry repair software and a laptop has back up to reach the game if things go bad. At worst I blow an evening listening to music and reading a good book while I nuke this computer. :)
     
  10. Mervyn

    Mervyn Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    748
    "i have windows XP" and something isn't working.
    The answer is in the question
     
  11. Lythos-

    Lythos- Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    743
    WinXP had very frequent system restore points. If I remember correctly it was two restore points a week by default.

    No offense to OP or anyone else but if you're unsure what you're working on, leave it alone...
     
  12. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    I actually got along with XP quite well. If Microsoft still supported it I'd have no problem going back to it.

    Wan't sure if I'd had to add Restore to XP or if it was to 98. Having it came in handy now and then back in those days I'd wander just about anywhere that sounded interesting. I'd had my computer set up to do nearly daily Restore Points which saved my rump.

    *laughs* I did a registry change given on a website to add a trick to Windows way back when and never touched it again. Don't think the computer would even get to the desktop. :)

    You know if an added programs registry info can be deleted and the computer still work afterwards, other than the deleted Registry program?
     
  13. Victim of Siege

    Victim of Siege Crazed Zealot
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Safe Haven

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,848
    Likes Received:
    3,667
    what i always did was uninstall the program and then remove all the folders and file remnants. then i would back up my registry and then methodically find and erase all traces of the program from the registry. after that i would reboot and see if the machine worked. if it did then i would re-install the program, but yeah, if you don't know what you're doing just leave it alone and find someone that does
     
  14. Fridgster

    Fridgster Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    @Ivory Norwind download ccleaner. Remove uoassist. Run ccleaners registry cleaner. That should remove all the registry files for programs no longer installed.
     
  15. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry but no. I've formatted my computer, i installed CC client and UoAssist. Then i can't update UoAssist. Now my pc is really clean because i've formatted it. So I don't know what i have to do. Also if i have formatted the pc ( i use windows WP with service pack 3 i can't use UoAssist :(
    They say that i can't Update it and the game comes without UoAssist. Now i'm really worried.I need UoAssist!
     
  16. Mervyn

    Mervyn Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    748
    Why don't you use windows 10? it's supposed to be faster for older PCs
     
  17. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8,988
    Likes Received:
    4,528
    Yeah supposed to be. From my experience it is far from the truth.
     
    J. E. Tamer and Tanivar like this.
  18. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't use window 10 because my computer doesn't support it. I have to change my computer (that has 9 years) But now i don't have money to do it.
    I don't know why all the people can use UoAssist and me no. What have i do? I've also formatted the pc. It is really clean now. How other people has resolved this problem? before formatting it I've tryed to use the 10 times in the reg config but after the 10 times UoAssist never worked another time :(
     
  19. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Please. there is someone that post the registry key that I have to change to use UoAssist for 10 times? The link that i've tryed doen't work for me. Thanks!
     
  20. Mervyn

    Mervyn Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    748
  21. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry. Ok, i've already read this. But it doesn 't work for me. In another post there is the right way to add 10 more times. I used that change and it worked fine. But now I don' find it.
     
  22. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    You've reformatted your computer with a new installation of XP, UO, and UOAssist, and UOAssist won't update.

    What notice are you getting saying it can't update? Post a screenshot of the notice it gives. With a new installation of XP, any old registry changes should be gone.
     
  23. Pawain

    Pawain Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,235
    Likes Received:
    2,391
    This may not help at all.

    Do you need an account associated with UOassist? It sounds like she is trying to run a trial version that has limited uses.
     
  24. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Ivory Norwind

    Are you reactivating UOAssist? If the UOAssist window comes up with the game window, click on the question mark in the lower right corner, click Registration on the window that appears, then follow the instructions that appear in the next window. This current problem just a case of way to many moons having gone by since you last installed UOAssist on your computer?
     
  25. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have many accounts. It's not this the problem.I have the problem that it doesn't update. I can't use it. The client doens't appear. Now i have formatted and UoAsisst doesn't work at all. I can't use te Reg info because the regestry is quite clean but it can't work for the 10 times. I hope that i've beeing explained well.
    Tanivar, the screen that appears is like this New UOAssist Error
    It's the same that i had before formatting.
    I don't understand why i have to do :(
     
  26. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    I'm out of ideas. The reformatting and reinstallation should have put in an entirely new and clean registry so I'm at a complete loss why it won't update for you.

    Have you tried going to the update.updateace.com website, clicked UOAssist at the top, then Troubleshooting on the left?
     
  27. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've tryed to go to update.updateace.com But it seems that there site doesn't exist. Can you help me to try to open this site? I'have made a very stupid thing formatting the pc because now i never have updated the UoAssist :(
    But it is posible that all other people don't have a problem like mine?
     
  28. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    I type the address update.updater.com into the Firefox search window, and click the Tugsoft link that comes up at the top of the list and go there without trouble. The site does exist. Have you tried getting there via your browser's search window like this?
     
  29. candlemass

    candlemass Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    17
    You try running UOasist In compatibility mode for windows xp service pack3, right click on uoasist Icon ,go to compatibility tab,check In box for windowsxp service pack3
     
  30. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes, i've tryed just 10 minutes ago. But it seems that is no updater for IoAssist. The big problem is that iI've formatted so i don't have already patched the UoAssist client..
     
  31. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    In that table i have only Windows 95, Windows 98 and Windows 2000. Not Windows XP with the server pack 3. This is the OS that I use. I've tryed with all other options but they doesn't work.
     
  32. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I want to try with an old version of UoAssist. There is someone that has it?
    I want also make another try to change registry. Can please post ALL the change that i will try to resolve the problem?
    I know that i am a little bored for you but please, have a little patience :(
    It some trick to resolve my problem? I can't use Ultima online without UoAssist. Please, I am desperate :(
     
  33. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    The big problem for the rest of us is it's working for us so we can't duplicate the problem to figure out why it's happening. Why you can't type update.updater.com into a browser and reach Tugsoft is strange. Still scratching my head over that one.
     
  34. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    If i type update.updater.com i see a long list to update but there is nothing for UoAssist. Can you make it for me and let me see what you see typing that link?With a screen, Thanks
     
  35. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    31,414
    Likes Received:
    5,777
    Maybe try starting from here: UOAssist Also, if you've re-installed did you remember to locate your keys?
     
  36. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    edit: Been typing it wrong here... :blushing:

    Ukjntitled.jpg
     
    #36 Tanivar, Feb 6, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  37. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    No, i don't have this screen..I will make my screen and I'll post it here
     
  38. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    No Petra Fyde. It is blocked before reading the little window of UoAssist. It doesn't update and the client is opened without UoAssist Then i can't do anything
     
    #38 Ivory Norwind, Feb 6, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  39. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
  40. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    updater.updateace.com - Google Search
    Sorry but I'm not able to make a screenshot. But this is the site that appears whit the update.updateace.com..
    All the links are of Tugsoft site and they doesn't allow to me to update UoAssist.
     
  41. candlemass

    candlemass Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    17
    You sure a Anti virus or firewall Is not blocking IT?
     
  42. Pawain

    Pawain Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,235
    Likes Received:
    2,391
    I would have bought a new computer if it took 2 days to try to make something work.

    And I have bought new computers just to play a specific game. But, I been using computers for a long time.
     
  43. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    1,816
    Why I bought the laptop I have for a few hundred dollars at Walmart, as a backup for playing UO. Old desktop computer I'd built way back in 2001 had started getting grumpy and cantankerous way to often, so I went shopping.
     
  44. TheWolf

    TheWolf Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    I don't have any solid advice. It's possible you have made an error somewhere. But I can tell you that I edited the registry with exactly what was said in #1 post of that thread. I was not able to update immediately. I shut down the computer, went to work, and later that day when I returned, it worked. Cant explain how or why.

    I can only imagine that the issue is with your registry, or your firewall is blocking you
     
  45. candlemass

    candlemass Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    17
    That person said they still had problems after a total reformat.
     
  46. Lythos-

    Lythos- Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    743
    Yes you are able to do a screenshot. Hit print screen (every keyboard has it) and paste it to in your paint program (every computer has that too). Then upload here and maybe someone can get an idea what's going on.

    I forgot which compatibility worked for XP but go down the list. I think it's 98. It's either that or your antivirus has it blocked or both if you did a clean format.
     
  47. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't havre made a screenshot but i've written what the link isays when i try to connect with update.updateace.com. You can see what i see..And there is nothing that can help me. All links are for Tugsoft and they can't upodate my UoAssist
     
  48. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    30
    The registry is cleaned. I have formatted the pc. I've aslo shut down all firewalls (the Mother Board one, the modem one, windows firewall and the antivirus. )
    My computer had anything free, without any block . And i've also tryed to open the port 80.
    Now I don't know why all persons can use UoAssist and for me it seems impossible. Ever and ever there is the windows that sayes that i can't update and the program doesn't start :(
    I can't play because the EC Client it to hard for my computer that is quite old and the processor is too slow to use the EC Client.
    What can I do? Stop playing Ultima Online? I've just playing a gametime for 6 months :(
     
  49. TheWolf

    TheWolf Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    I don't know what you mean you formatted the pc. You may need to do a clean install of the operating system. Being on XP, probably not a good idea to do a clean install. You may not get all the updates you need. It could be possible your IP is unable to reach host server due to geographical location.
     
  50. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    31,414
    Likes Received:
    5,777
    I'd really encourage you to explore the ingame macros - they can do more than most people think.